Waiting for Glory

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways my ways.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways,

my thoughts higher than your thoughts.  Isaiah 55: 8-9

We are still sad for little Justin, but believing above all that God’s plan is good and is still unfolding, we’re getting ready to go.  In fact, we head to Eastern Europe on Friday!  And we’d like to introduce you to the boy we are now adopting.

Meet “Peyton”:

Peyton was listed on Reece’s Rainbow in December (I think) and in nearly a year, not one family had inquired about him.  He’s been overlooked.  No one noticed him.

Here’s another picture of “Peyton” from back in December:

And here is a picture of him taken by a family who was adopting from his orphanage just 2 weeks ago:

He looks like he’s struggling a bit.  He’s small.  For his age, that Bumbo seat should be small for him, but he seems to have plenty of room.

These two pictures get me every time:

Never have I seen such a face on a child.  A friend described it this way: I feel like he is like a little wilted plant. No life, no spark, but when you love him and feed him and nurture him, he will come to life. And his little personality will shine! It’s like no one can know him now, but soon he will be knowable.

And it’s true, because even after a few visits from that family, he started to come back:

He would hold his head up a little.  He would make eye contact.  And, though it can’t be attributed to visits, can we just take a moment to appreciate that hair?  Ok, thanks.

Imagine the boy with love and attention, nutrition and sunshine.  Oh, and wearing some more masculine clothes.

God is writing Peyton’s story.

Then your light shall break forth like the dawn,

and your wound shall quickly be healed;

your vindication shall go before you,

and the glory of the LORD shall be your rear guard.

Isaiah 58:8

12 thoughts on “Waiting for Glory

  1. Kate Quinn

    Oh, man, I just want to hold him (well, all of them) and kiss them, and let them know they’re loved :( :( :(. I’m so happy that this little one will have all of that from you too (and a Big/Little Bro to be his bud!).

  2. leilaatlittlecatholicbubble

    You know exactly how I feel about this. My heart aches about Justin, but it is full of hope and joy for sweet Peyton. I can’t wait to see him shine! And oh, he just hit the parent “jackpot”! Many, many prayers as you go forth.

  3. Gina

    I agree with your friends “wilted plant” description. Prayers from here, & I’m agreeing with you for Isaiah 58:8 for your son. That verse is pure Truth. Btw, I hope his hairstyle is exactly the same when you meet him :) I love the hairstyles God puts on babies.

  4. Mrs. Mike

    He’s such a sweetheart and looks like he’s ready for his momma to come get him. Happy travels! Be assured of our prayers for you as you travel!

  5. Becky D.

    Praying for that sweet baby boy to bloom with you and praying for all of you these next weeks while you travel and get to know each other.

  6. Laura

    Megan, I really admire you guys for what you are doing and going through. Peyton looks like he NEEDS you guys. He needs a loving caring home. I know that God is guiding your heart and has known from the beginning the plans for you. Of course Justin will always hold a special place in your heart and on my prayers as well.
    God bless you,
    Laura

  7. alison

    I haven’t been commenting, but I am happy for this turn of events that’s bringing you to peyton. Well, I don’t know of happy is the right word since that still leaves Justin by himself but maybe at some point you guys can go back for him? Wishing you all the best. I can’t believe you are traveling on Friday!

Leave a Reply

