If he were born to you

I have come across a rather urgent situation that I thought I would share with all of you.

Reece’s Rainbow recently received an update on a little boy named Whitaker.  Here he is!

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 1.36.05 PM

Cute, right?

He is only 4 years old, but within 2 months, probably more like 1 month, he will be transferred from a pretty good baby house to a really bad mental institution.  We can guess that when he goes to the mental institution, he will be highly medicated (children with seizure disorders are often put on adult dosages of medicine!), left in a crib, neglected, and underfed.

I don’t believe he will survive for very long.  Many children die after they are transferred to these mental institutions.

If he were born to you, it would be easy to love him, wouldn't it?  It can be that way through adoption too.

A photo from when he was a bit younger.

But there is hope!

First, the baby house said that if a family commits to adopting him soon, and they can move quickly, they will try their best to keep him from being transferred.

Second, Whitaker has a big adoption grant.  Right now, he has over $7,000 donated for his adoption, and someone has pledged to donate and raise a significant amount more.  So watch his grant, because some big growth is in the future.

Third, he has us.  We know about him.  There are so many kids who are not known to anyone.  But we know.  And we can’t stand idle, can we?  We must take to our knees and pray.  We must share his face so others can know him too.  And we must look at ourselves and truly discern if we are his family.

If he were born to you, wouldn’t you love him?  Even with his cerebral palsy, his seizure disorder, and whatever else his (probably at least somewhat inaccurate) medical information says, he would be easy to love as your flesh and blood, as a surprise that grew into your family.  And you would take him to all of the appointments he needed, and you would travel to the special doctors, and you would stretch out his muscles so he would feel better and he could have the chance to crawl, and walk, and run, and dance.  It would be hard sometimes, but you wouldn’t hesitate to do it.  He would be a joy for you; he would light up your life, and you wouldn’t be able to imagine your family without him.  Yes, it’d be easy to love him.

And I can tell you, adoption is the same way, it just demands that we choose.  We must choose the hardship and self-sacrifice that comes hand in hand with the joy, the blessing, and the love.  Sort of like how God chose to adopt us, knowing the suffering He would endure, but loving us enough and wanting to share with us that bliss that comes with being His sons and daughters.

I had an endearing naivete about Down Syndrome when we adopted Paul.  I still don’t know all that much.  I know life can be hard.  I know I get frustrated and tired. But I also know that I love Paul just like I love Ben.  And when I look at him I don’t even see Down Syndrome.  I see my son, who is quiet and observant, who takes joy in simple things, who works hard to master skills that come easily to so many others.  Lots of people wouldn’t want Paul, and I tear up just typing that because if he knew, he would be so hurt by that, but the truth is that it’s their loss, because Paul is easy to love.  Whitaker would be too.  Maybe God has him in mind for you.  Please, allow yourself to be uncomfortable. Because I know you have the capacity to love him, and be a good family for him.  That’s really all he needs.

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 2.16.00 PM

9 thoughts on “If he were born to you

  1. Serena Conn

    I have a stepson I have raised who has cerebral palsy and a seizure disorder and severe developmental disabilities. He’s the light of my life. Please, someone adopt Whitaker! You won’t regret it.

  2. Pilar Oldenburg

    Hello, I am very touched by this story. Has anyone adopted him? I have shared it on my Facebook site. I have five children, the smallest is 2 and a half, and I somehow dont dare, but we can’t allow that this boy is destroyed..please let me know if someone was found. Thank you

Leave a Reply

