It worked, but the work is not done.

Urgent news came in about a little boy, only 4 years old, who was in danger of being transferred to a horrible mental institution.  His sweet little face was shared all over facebook.  Even the post on this measly blog was shared over a thousand times and seen by over 10,000 people.  Others blogged and shared about Whitaker too.  People rallied for the little boy who faced a dire future.

And you know what?

It worked.

A family already in process to adopt a little boy with Down Syndrome, added Whitaker to their adoption.  This family also came home earlier this year with two other children.

Please pray and, if you can, make a little donation to help this beautiful family as they step out in faith to help these little ones.  Thank you to the Harlin family, for doing what so many had the desire to do, but perhaps weren’t able at this time.

The orphanage director has been notified, and they will keep Whitaker in their care until the Harlin’s arrive.  Pray their process goes quickly and smoothly.

As we breathe a sigh of relief for the little boy with the thick hair and the fair face, please don’t step away, feeling as if the job is all done.  Because for every “Whitaker” we know about, there are thousands of others, in his own country even, let alone all over the world, that need you.  They need you to share the way you did this past week.  They need your heart to be pierced.  They need you to be willing to go to that uncomfortable place where you consider, “Is God asking me to open my heart and my family for this child?”

I remember when God asked me to do that.  Ryan was downstairs in a meeting, and Ben was already asleep in bed.  I sat in our bedroom and prayed because I had felt God prompting me to do something for these children, specifically, a child with Down Syndrome.  But I didn’t know a thing about Down Syndrome.  I had hardly had any interaction with any children or even adults with special needs.  I sat on the bed and cried, and I asked God if this is truly what he was asking of me.  I wrestled with Him because this was not part of my own plan and it was not what I wanted.  No, I didn’t want this.  It wasn’t my dream from childhood, I hadn’t already had a child with a special need like so many of the other adoptive parents, I wasn’t a SN preschool teacher in my professional work.

I was just a woman who loved God and believed that all life had worth and value.

That was enough for God.

Despite my ignorance, my lack of patience, my laziness, my selfishness and my pride, God decided I was enough.

You are enough too.

And it has changed my whole perspective as a parent.  I am a better parent now than I was before.  Even though there are more appointments, more chaos, more messes on the floor, I am more calm and content because when I look at my family I know deep down how much we have compared to so many.  And I don’t mean material things like a home and warm clothes, though those are important.  I mean- my kids are loved and cared for unconditionally.  Paul is loved, and he, in turn, loves.  And that is life.  That’s why I changed this blog’s header from “Team Stout” to “to love and be loved” because since adopting that has been at the heart of our family.  It comes from a quote from Bl Teresa of Calcutta (Mother Teresa):

We have been created for greater things…we have been created to love and to be loved.

Please, remember the orphan.  Whitaker is a real boy, but he also represents thousands of others, many of whom live locked away hardly ever to be seen.  Thousands of others who were created for love, out of love, but know nothing of love.  And we are the ones who can change that.

One thought on “It worked, but the work is not done.

Leave a Reply

