On the lighter, less interesting side…

Paint colors.

Thanks to my very smart and sensible in-laws, I think Ryan might believe me that we should do all the painting and staining on the exterior of our house.  It’s not a sure thing, but we should decide soon so I don’t string along these painters.  I discussed some thoughts I was having about this before.

But, the problem with that post is that the picture I was using to show some of my ideas (and awesome photoshop skills!) was pretty old.  It was basically right when we first moved in.  AND for whatever reason, our roof looked dark and gray.

29670_539488330350_5810194_n

Oh, how I wish it was dark and gray.  But it is in fact, more akin to this:

burnt sienna

Thanks to Bert Roofing for that photo.  It’s called Burnt Siena and it might be my least favorite shingle color.  Here’s my effort to get you to see the color on my house.

IMG_3780

It was sunny that day.  And now we are all blind.  It does make the house look especially bad.  And it definitely illuminates how badly we need to stain everything.  And our plants are dead.  But it’ll all come to life, and I just bought some hanging flowers, so it’ll perk up.  In the meantime, sorry to the neighbors.

But see how the shingles are more brown?  Maybe that changes our color options, because those shingles aren’t changing color for a long time (like 20 yrs from now when the house will need a new roof).  In an even more unfortunate display of photoshop, here’s what I’ve played around with:

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.20.05 PM

Some kind of green. Even though I’m over green.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 10.34.31 PM

Some kind of blue, which I prefer, but I’m not so sure with that burnt roof.

White houses with dark trim are pretty trendy around here at the moment, so, for kicks and giggles…

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.23.37 AM

The older pic, so we can see it without being blinded by the light.

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.23.52 AM

The newer pic so we can see it with the roof.

That is probably a bit too bold for my taste.  And definitely too bold for Ryan’s.  But I like to look at even the unlikely options, and since white goes with everything (even burnt sienna) I figured I’d give it a go.

Edited to add these two new contenders:

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 1.13.53 PM

A greige was suggested by a couple of people. To make it work, I needed to brown up the stain on the beams (and would do that for all the stain.)

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 2.44.09 PM

Greige, but two toned, as another possible option.

And I’ll add this one too!   A popular home blogger painted a show home “newberg green” and so that is a very popular color right now.  It’s really more of a type of blue than a green.  This is about as close to it as I can get…

newberg

On the older pic of the home that doesn’t really show the color of the roof. This also has the wood more brown, which I think is possible.

newberg new pic

Here’s Newburg with the burnt roof and the browned up beams.

So does the blue really look terrible with the brown roof?  I tried to find some inspiration.  There wasn’t much, which doesn’t bode well.  But there were these, which are clearly not actual houses (except for the second one) but rather, other people playing on their computer as I have been:

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.29.03 AM

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.28.53 AM Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 10.29.30 AM

But burnt siena isn’t dark brown.  It’s weird brown.  But I also wonder- should I really care so much?  I had a hard time when we redid our fireplace because our trim and floors are lighter wood, but I really didn’t want a light wood mantle.  I really WANTED a dark wood mantle, but I thought it would look bad with all the light wood we already had, that can’t be changed.  So I kept thinking stone, but the stone options were terrible.  So I considered light wood, but I thought that would look terrible.

So finally I just did what I wanted and it looked fine and not at all weird.  (I just realized I never showed you guys that project.  Not that you care, but hey, I don’t have all that much to blog about now that the IEP business is through.)

So maybe I shouldn’t really care about the shingles, and as long as I pick something that doesn’t obviously and completely clash with it, it’ll be fine.

“Thoughts?  Comments?  Deeper wisdom?  Further insight?” -Fr. Dan Pattee, from a million years ago

2 thoughts on “On the lighter, less interesting side…

Leave a Reply

